Government & Taxes

Cherokee County North Carolina Courthouse


County: Three commissioners and county manager.  

Town - Murphy Mayor and town councilmen.  

Town - Andrews Mayor and board of aldermen.


The Cherokee County property tax rate is $.385 per $100.00.  In addition, property owners inside the city limits of Murphy pay $.33, Andrews pays $.38, and Bear Paw pays $.27.  Each resident is assessed a $75.00 per year solid waste fee.   

Sales Tax in the county is 6.75%  

North Carolina has a personal income tax of 6% - 7.75% based on taxable income tax level.

Copyright 2014 ~ 2016 All Rights Reserved

We would like to thank the following people for contributing photographs:  
Digital Creations USA, William Hoyt, Joan Posey Neumann, John C Campbell Folk School, Nancy Lane, Joyce Moore, Sherry Collins, Eleanor Brazell, Butch Horn, Blue Ridge Highlander  

Cherokee County Chamber (828) 837-2242